PDA

View Full Version : Rebuild with more power!

Eric Selinger
03-15-2004, 20:30
Okay Guys,

I am preparing the way to pull my 6.5. I finally have the opportunity to move forward. I wrote in back on 11/16/03 about "missing & excessive oil consumption".

I don't have any idea what the actual problem is yet, but I figure the whole thing has to come out anyway. I am very curious to know what went wrong because I had no load & I rarely pulled a load anyway. So if it is a busted ring(lubricity?) or a holed piston (excessive heat and why?), I want to be able to attribute it to something besides abuse, because that never happened. Actually it was driven more like I was a professional garage saler(stop & start all day long). I guess that's abuse, but excessive heat shouldn't have been a factor because of that?

I also want to know if anybody has had any problems with the heath turbomaster.

I'm gonna rebuild it myself and of course I want more power, on a low budget. I am wide open to any suggestions so please let me hear what you would do.

Thanks a million!

Eric Selinger
E-mail: selingere@starband.net
94 CCTD , hypertech chip, K&N, and a turbomaster. 195,565. (My can opener)

85 s-10 2.5L 4 speed (My can)

More Power
03-15-2004, 21:37
Deciding what or how much to do depends on your goals and your budget.

A member is beginning the process of rebuilding for more power. Here's his list:

>INTERNAL UPGRADE OPTIONS
>1. Completely Balanced Rotating Assembly:
>2. Ceramic Coated Piston Crowns:
>3. 18:1 Compression Pistons:
>4. Stud & Girdle to Strengthen Bottom End:
>5. Dual Idler Gear Drive:
>6. Ported Cylinder Heads:
>7. Ceramic Coated Combustion Chambers:
>
>EXTERNAL UPGRADE OPTIONS
>1. HO Dual Thermo Cooling Kit:
>2. Injector Pump Options:
> a. Reman 6.5L TD:
> b. 6.5L MArine 300HP:
>3. Injector Options
> a. Stock 6.5L TD:
> b. 6.5L High-flow Marine:
>4. Ceramic Coated Manifolds:
>5. Glow Plug Options
> a. 11G Stock:
> b. LDM Quick Heat:
>6. Ported Intake & Plenum:
>

MP