PDA

View Full Version : Clamp-style pyro probe pre-turbo?

SparkyTX
06-19-2003, 20:31
Is it possible (reasonable) to install the clamp-style pyro probe pre-turbo? If so, where?

I went to DIS today, and they said they have mostly been installing the clamp-style due to risk of manifold damage from drilling/tapping. He said to install it in the "crossover". I am new to this rig, but I know gassers. Per the exhaust routing in the service manual and my experience, I do not see any crossover, nor any easy access for a clamp style mounting pre-turbo.

I am thinking of going back tomorrow and exchanging it for a screw-in type. Should I or should I not?

Kennedy
06-19-2003, 20:47
I have no problems with either style.

I WOULD suggest going to a plug in style end, but everyone seems to be into cheap these days and uses the ring eye/heat shrink type.

SparkyTX
06-19-2003, 20:50
Where, pre-turbo, would install the clamp style?

Silver Bullet
06-20-2003, 07:42
DIS installed BassinRver's...I think his is a clamp style. It is in the exhaust pipe just past the manifold...Robert is this correct???

I am hopefully ordering my gauges today from JK...I am going into the manifold with mine.

hoot
06-20-2003, 07:47
In this pic of my cracked bracket, you can install the clamped style on the outlet pipe on the above right. The tube that turns up 90 deg. coming out of the cast ex manifold.

image (http://www.uscom.com/%7Ehoot/cars/duramax/gmc/downpipe_break/DSCN3050.jpg)

J/K I believe they are talking about pyro installation with a hose clamp style.

Kennedy
06-20-2003, 07:55
I use the clamp in style for post turbo installations. I cannot see welding a bung to an aluminized or coated pipe.

I use the thread in style for casting installations, but it should work fairly well on a manifold.

Bassin has been having problems with his, and the first thing I suggested was to go to a weatherpack plug in style probe/leadwire as they make R&R/testing SO much easier...

BassinRVer
06-20-2003, 08:50