PDA

View Full Version : vacume pumps

rockingroofer
07-01-2004, 12:29
I have a 94 silverado since 96 with 250,000 + miles and i seem to be blowing alot of black smoke with no boost .When i move the wastegate actuator by hand there seems to be no resistance. I changed the vacume solenoid and still no resistance So i pulled the rubber hose off the vacume diaphram and held my finger over the hole and there was a little suction and a lot of noise
When checking for vacume at the pod .should there be any noise coming from the vacume pump?

rjschoolcraft
07-01-2004, 14:43
Sounds like your vacuum pump has croaked. Common thing. If you check vacuum ahead of the solenoid, the pump should pull upwards of 25" of Hg at idle. Downstream of the solenoid, the vacuum reading will vary greatly. Should be about 15" Hg at idle.

[ 07-01-2004, 03:04 PM: Message edited by: ronniejoe ]

Marty Lau
07-02-2004, 08:52
I dumped the vacum system. I got a TurboMaster Waste gate controler it's a spring controlled and addjustable. I took off the pump and put a 1993 belt on works good no more vacum problems and reasonable cost.

hump
07-02-2004, 15:56
Is there anything else that uses vacuum besides the wastegate set up? How about egr? I would like to dump the vacuum in favour of the boost controller too.

C.K. Piquup
07-08-2004, 18:55
I had the same question.I believe the vacuum pump is required to operate heat&a/c flaps.Correct?I have a non-wastegated Peninsular turbo and my vacuum pump is going bad.I figure I need to replace it to keep my HVAC operating correctly.Am I right?

norm
07-08-2004, 19:02
My truck (which has no egr) has vacuum only controling turbo. One line to the solenoid and one from there to wastegate. L56 trucks with EGR split the vacuum to also go through those solenoids. The HVAC controls are not vacuum operated like many other vehicles. I do not know about older diesels. Just follow the lines and see where they go.

cudaaa
07-08-2004, 19:04