PDA

View Full Version : Faulty Duramax Injectors outside the USA

PortCity05
06-24-2005, 01:10
G'day
We have a classic case of faulty injectors on a 2001 Duramax diesel outside America.
I called GM's customer service where I was told they do not warrant their products outside the US.
There is no authorised GM sevice centre in Australia to look after this problem.
I have had a local GM convertor promising me he is getting me a set under warranty but after 8 weeks waiting I think he is full of **** & he has stopped returning my calls.
Does anyone know how to get around this problem without having to pay top dollar for a set of new injectors.
Is there an easy way of locating a leaking faulty injector without replacing the lot.
Thanks heaps for any advise
regards Terry.

Kennedy
06-24-2005, 06:02
I believe that exports typically carry an amended (or none) warranty. This could be especially true if it was not exported by/to an authorized dealer, but I am no expert.

Based on the history of these injectors, I'd suggest doing a full set replacement to avoid going back in again later. GM originally played the onesy-twosey game, but later broke down and did all 8 especially of there was fuel in crankcase or excessive return fuel as these are suspect victims of ball seat erosion or cracking of the bodies. I have a good source for all of the parts that you may need. I'll check with him on what the warranty is as I know he has some overseas.

DmaxMaverick
06-24-2005, 06:34
I can't believe GM would leave its customers hanging like that, no matter where they are. There has to be some place near you that does handle these issues. I suggest getting on the phone with GM, and staying there until you get the right answer.