PDA

View Full Version : Engine rebuild questions

Blzr6.2'83
05-18-2005, 11:55
I currently have a 6.2 diesel that is very tired. I want to build a nice 6.2 or 6.5 that i will use for offroading and city driving. I want to make it as reliable as possible, but also want enough power to go faster than 75(my current top speed with 3.42 gearing and 32 inch tires :( ). I'm guessing it will have to be NA becasue I only have about 2000 to maybe 3000 dollars to do it with. I know i need a 599 block or AMG block. How far would this much money get me to reach my goal? I will have to buy a core block to build up becasue i need something to drive while i am building my engine. I also want to run biodiesel or WVO so will propane injection still work with it? I'm a newbie with diesels so will probably have a lot more questions.
THanks for all the help,
Kyle

Blzr6.2'83
05-18-2005, 11:57
I forgot to ask if a 6.5 has more of a chance to get a cracked block than a 6.2 and if the power gain is worth it if i make the switch?
Thanks again

john8662
05-18-2005, 14:00
Welcome to TDP!

Actually you have quite a few options. You're right in the dollar amount for building a N/A engine. Since you'll be finding another block you will want a 599 if you want a 6.5, there are other castings of the 6.5 that are similar like the 141 and 929 castings. These all are blocks that don't have oil jets drilled into the webs for cooling the pistons. The later 506 casting blocks did and are very prone to cracking even in non-turbo form, that is, except the latest AMG block.