PDA

View Full Version : Hard start, block heater and return lines?

misterdoyle
02-06-2004, 08:00
Hello,

I am having more and more trouble starting my

dieselcrawler
02-06-2004, 09:48
Sam,
I am no expert on diesels, so you'll have to wait on others more knolageable than myself to answer the questions about the hard starting. But, I am an electrician, so I might be able to help troubleshoot the block heater. If you have an amp meter, you can check if the block heater is pulling any current when it is pluged in and suppost to be working. The one in my truck is an 800 watt heater, and powered by a 120 volt sorce. So, to find the amprage, you would devide the watts (800) by the volts (120) and get amps (6.6). The easiest way to check this is with a 'clamp on' type amp meter, and to do this, you must try to take a reading on ONE WIRE. As in, put the meter around only one of the wires, the hot or the neutral, both should have the same ammount of current flow (amprage) as the other, but if you have both wires (as in, put the meter around an extention cord) they cancel each other out, and you will get a reading of next to nothing. If your block heater is anything like mine, it has a cord with the 3 wires molded together, and it would be easy to sepirate the hot or the neutral from the other 2 in order to be able to get the meter around just one conductor. So, if you get all that, you find a meter, and are able to get a reading, I would expect an amprage of around 5 to 7 amps if your block heater is working correctly when pluged in. As I said, mine is 800 watts, yours may be diffrent. 600w=5amps, 700w=5.8amps, do the math. Good luck...
Greg

Dezman125
02-06-2004, 10:20
Hi