PDA

View Full Version : Glow plugs - installing an in-cab switch

Quack_Addict
01-02-2004, 09:16
I did a search and didn't come up with a whole lot to help me out (most of the topics I saw were pre `84)...

I have a 1987 Suburban, originally outfit with a 6.2L that I now have a 6.5L crate engine in. The glow plugs cycle occasionally - it seems the plugs only come on when it is warm outside but don't when it's cold. As an added bonus, if I do manage to start the engine, the glow plugs will cycle... sometimes... but only if the engine is running.

The relay is on the back side of the driver side head, so I am guessing it is a newer style relay. If I understand correctly, the relay actuates from ground and not +12V. Is it as easy as figuring out which wire is the actuator and running a switched ground wire to it or do I need to install a switched, grounded relay? Please forgive me for my apparent lack of electrical knowledge; I'm a mechanical engineer ;)

If a relay is needed, I have several new hi-current relays for my Western snow plow that I think should fit the bill.

Thanks for any help.

CleviteKid
01-02-2004, 11:15
Hello Quack,

The first recommendation of TheDieselPage.com is to get your factory glow system running properly. If you go to the on-line troubleshooting guide, Chapter 13. 1985-93 Glow Systems (http://www.thedieselpage.com/members/guide13.htm) you will find what you need to get it working correctly.

You are correct, for you system you will need another relay in parallel with the glow controller if you want a manual override. Go to Chapter 12. 1982-84 Glow Systems (http://www.thedieselpage.com/members/guide12.htm) in the Guide to learn about the earlier system; you just need the relay part, not the glow controller.

I am a mechanical engineer too, but these days with all the electronic instrumentation and control, that is a weaker and weaker excuse for not playing with electrons.

Dr. Lee

Quack_Addict
02-04-2004, 20:03