PDA

View Full Version : The Who's Who of 6.2L: C vs. J

dieselcrawler
12-09-2003, 18:41
Hey all, I'm new to the diesel thing, and was wondering what the diffrence was in the 2 avalible 6.2L motors, the "C" and the "J". I was under the impression that the J was a heavy duty version, and the C was normal duty. What's the real diffrence, how can you tell them apart, and how do the diffrences affect how our trucks run? If the 8th dig of the VIN is the motor type, I have a "J" in my K-30 CUCV 1028, as one would expect for a heavy duty mil truck. Thanks for any input...
Greg

britannic
12-09-2003, 21:58
"C"=Light Duty and is the EGR engine
"J"=HD as you say and doesn't have EGR.

The "C" doesn't breathe as well as the "J", because of the smaller cylinder head pre-chambers, valves (I think they're a tad smaller, but someone will need to confirm that), restrictive intake manifold (EGR and the way the intake manifold is designed). The IP is also thrifty on fuel, which along with the pre-chambers gives great mileage (in excess of 20MPG ).

Some quick upgrades for the "C" engine:

1. Lose the EGR system
2. Install a hummer intake manifold from eBay
3. Install non-EGR intake manifold gaskets at the same time
4. Turn the IP up or get one for a "J" engine (but the fuel economy will drop in proportion to the power increase).

A serious upgrade would include a pair of 6.5LTD cylinder heads and turbo :D .

Peter J. Bierman
12-10-2003, 06:10
Yes, you are right, normally all millitairy trucks have J engines, so if you have the original engine in there it's a J.

Peter

dieselcrawler
12-10-2003, 18:18