PDA

View Full Version : Air leakage, no rhyme or reason to it...

Kris Schneider
09-15-2004, 14:24
Hi guys, new to this forum...I'll introduce myself and my problem...

My name is Kris Schneider, I'm a resident of Delano, Minnesota attending school at ISU. I'm a big fan of vintage GM trucks having owned several so far:
1969 CST/20 4x4
1967 C/30 duallie
1972 C/10 w/extensive engine modifications (I did my own fuel injection using a 454 TBI)
1958 Apache 3800
1987 C/20

My latest truck, however, I'm proud to say, is my first diesel. 1983 K5 Blazer, convertible top, 6.2 Diesel/700r4/NP208. Some modifications by the previous owner include severely dented doors and front fenders, some dents in the bedsides, 33x12.5" BFGoodrich swampers, 4" suspension lift, Rancho shocks and steering stabilizer. Truck has about 128k on it.

Since I've had it I've installed new fuel filters, an electric fuel pump and a new MP3/Stereo deck (woohoo!)

However, since purchasing the truck hard starting has plagued me. I purchased the truck at a price of $300 with a bad tranny and rear end, installed a new tranny and rebuilt the rear end with a new carrier the PO gave me (it had broken the spiders on the trails and ran front wheel drive for a while). The truck had been sitting for 3 years after the PO killed the tranny. While doing the tranny/diff fixes I also installed new fuel filters. This improved starting somewhat but not completely. The truck still took 2 cycling of the glow plugs (PO installed manual switch) 5 sec on 5 sec off 5 sec on and about 8 second cranking time to start. After getting it down here to iowa state, I decided faster starting would be a necessity if I'm going to be able to use it at all during the winter so I purchased and installed an electric fuel pump and tied it to a wire hot when the ignition is on, which makes for slightly faster start times, but this currently isn't the entirety of the problem.