PDA

View Full Version : rebuild time

1bad383
10-06-2004, 13:19
Hi guys, it looks like rebuild time for my 95 6.5t. 218k on the clock, and is she tired. During routine tranny fluid change, I dicided to spin my flexplate around, just for kicks. No converter shield. I was able to spin the motor around by hand!! Not so good. needless to say, with the boost turned up a bit ;) , and towing there went the ring seal. Blow by city! Long story short, motor is comming out soon and I wanted to know from some of you guys that have torn them down in the past. What would have you done differently. Putting the lower comp pistons in, stabbing a 'hot'cam in. Anybody have any news on cams??? Basicly other than stock stuff, or even a few tricks that I may not have thought of. I am an experienced builder, build my own race motors ect. Thanks for the input!

tom.mcinerney
10-06-2004, 19:18
Do thorough check for cracked main webs in block before invest a lot in it.

schamp
10-09-2004, 04:11
You might want to check with Jamie Avant and see what he would charge to build you what you want and send it to you. You might not want to stay with the same block. I have heard that the blocks from 98 on were better. I have 233k on my 97 suburban and have talked with Jamie in depth about building exactly what I want. About 7,000.00 installed. You can save about a 1,000.00 doing the install yourself. I would think the warranty would still be good. When mine lays down for good, it will go to Jamie for a better than new engine built exactly for the way I use the suburban. Good luck

markrinker
10-09-2004, 04:29
I'll be more direct - don't put a dime into a tired 1995 block. (If you had seen the webs on my '95, you'd probably buy a F%rd!)

cruzer
10-10-2004, 07:03
I'd use either the 599 blk or the new blk. Port match the intake and head ports(intk & exh) and do Kennedy's Air mods.

Do a "search" on blks and any other mods you are considering. Talk to some of the vendors too.