PDA

View Full Version : Any truck pulling experience out there?

markrinker
02-23-2004, 15:50
I live 3 blocks from our county fairgrounds, where each summer there is a truck pull. Alot of the local guys turn out with their diesel rigs.

As many of you already know, I run two 1994 6.5TD flatbeds. They are 3500 series trucks with single (not dually) rear end with 4.10 gears.

Question: I would like to compete this summer, and spend a 'reasonable' amount to be competetive. Aside from the obvious exhaust, chip, and boost modifications,

1) what 'short-burst' overfueling methods are possible for the 15-20 seconds of pulling time?
Nitrous? Propane? AOL 9.0 Top Speed? (haha)

Extra credit:

2) What weight class would be best to compete in? The truck weighs 6,800 lbs.

3) What range - 4low or 4high would be the best for maximizing momentum vs. torque?

Also, if anyone has a spare 4.10 gear dually rear, I am in the market smile.gif

Jim P
02-23-2004, 16:30
Mark,

I have no experience pulling one of these diesel trucks but I sure would like to pull mine. My wife says that if I do, she will divorce me.

I did pull an old 72 international truck one time. It had a 345 gasser and a 4 speed transmission. I pulled it in 4 wheel low with the tranny in second gear but it ran out of power. I got to try again because I was the first puller. So I put in 1st this time and revved it up a little before letting out the clutch. This time it twisted the rear driveshaft. I had to take off the rear driveshaft and drive it home with front wheel drive.

I don't know too much about these newer 3500 trucks but my 2500 hd has the independent front suspension as apposed to the older straight axles. These may work fine but the older fords that had the independent front suspension used to wheel hop real bad at the pulls.

As far as power goes, I know that propane does help but some places won't let you run it. I think water injection would be a big help too along with a chip.