PDA

View Full Version : '96 K2500 6.5 overheating

Kbrooks8516
09-03-2016, 21:13
Newbie here, to diesels as well as this forum.

Firstly I have a '96 K2500 with 6.5. I started experiencing overheating problems shortly after getting this truck about 4-5 months ago. It ONLY overheats when I am pulling my 6x10 utility trailer with a zero-turn mower. After MUCH research on this forum as well as others, I have recently done the following modifications:

S&B cold air intake
All aluminum Mishimoto radiator
SSDiesel fan clutch and water pump combo

I used my truck today for the first time since those mods were installed and the truck ran perfectly until I went up a steep grade on the interstate. I got about halfway up the grade and (pardon the sloppy description) it felt like the truck lost power all of a sudden. As I continued to the top of the hill my RPM and speedometer just slowly kept going down and down even with the gas all the way to the floor. The temperature climbed to about 3/4 on the gauge and it went down as I descended the hill after a few minutes.

I feel like this damn truck is a patient on an episode of House....500 different possibilities of the cause of the problem but no definite answers. I've heard everything from the upgrades I have already completed to it being the injection pump to cracked heads (I'm losing 0 fluid). I am at a loss. I want to keep my truck but right now it seems like it's a money pit. I have already sunk $2,000 just in THOSE upgrades alone, not to mention others I have done that have nothing to do with the overheating problem.