PDA

View Full Version : Heat smeals like exhaust

Gunshow
08-14-2016, 14:24
Hello, First post here on the Diesel Page.

A/C works great in the truck no smell when it is on.
Turn on the heat and it does heat but it starts to smell like exhaust.

I have no experience with heat issues in vehicles so that's why I am asking the forum.

I did use the search function before I posted this topic, but did not find what I was looking for.

Thank you all for your time.

svcattle
08-14-2016, 14:47
The search function is worthless at best on any site unless you like reading 5000 pages of material that has nothing to with what you want . As far as the smell maybe an exhaust leak somewhere?

Gunshow
08-14-2016, 15:31
I replaced the vacuum pump a short while ago and while I was in the engine bay I checked exhaust manifolds, Turbo and exhaust system all the way to the back and everything looked good.

I just don't understand what the burning smell could be.

Dvldog8793
08-14-2016, 19:01
Howdy
Is it possible that the smell is from a small leak in the heater core and what you are smelling is antifreeze evaporating?
With the engine cold:
Try turning on the heater when you are parked and see if the smell is there, if so open the hood and see if the smell goes away.
If no smell for above then get it hot and try the same thing.
Personally I think you will find a small leak in your heater core.
Good luck.

svcattle
08-14-2016, 19:56
Have you ran the engine while checking for exhaust system leaks ?

Gunshow
08-15-2016, 04:21
Howdy
Is it possible that the smell is from a small leak in the heater core and what you are smelling is antifreeze evaporating?
With the engine cold:
Try turning on the heater when you are parked and see if the smell is there, if so open the hood and see if the smell goes away.
If no smell for above then get it hot and try the same thing.
Personally I think you will find a small leak in your heater core.
Good luck.

I will try this when I have time this week.