PDA

View Full Version : New 6.2 guy with ?s

Ramblin82GMC
07-20-2015, 17:21
Hi, I got an 82 GMC with the 6.2 from my Grandfather a few years back. Low mileage truck, 28K. Parked since 1994. I have had it a few years but recently my son decided he wants it for his first car. So I have pulled it out and started working on it. I have ZERO experience with the 6.2 so will have lots of questions. The truck starts and runs good. But it has a leak from the IP. Not at the rear of the IP where the lines attach but more towards the front of the engine. I removed the air filter and got a better look but hard to tell exactly where it is coming from. Diesel runs down the valley and out the back but also some runs down the front cover as well. Any ideas? Thanks!

DmaxMaverick
07-20-2015, 17:48
Welcome aboard!

Since it's sat for so long, any number of seals may be leaking, any of the fluids. They'll all need addressing at some point.

The fuel leak is possibly (at least) the throttle shaft seal. It's not uncommon on high mileage pumps, and wouldn't be unusual for one that's sat for 20 years. Other possibilities are the rubber/steel fuel return lines that cross the valley from the front-most injectors. The injector return lines (that hop from injector to injector) meet at the front to a common return line, that Tee's into the return line from the top of the injection pump. If you've eliminated the steel injector lines at the rear of the pump, also check the rubber line at the center of the injector lines. This is the fuel supply line, although I don't see how it would leak fuel at the front of the valley. Being a rubber line, it will likely need replaced soon, anyway.

We have several members in your area, so it may not be too difficult to get some experienced eyes on the problem, if need be. I'm a bit of a stretch away, about 90 miles.

Ramblin82GMC
07-21-2015, 07:39
Thanks for the welcome and the info!