PDA

View Full Version : Rough Start after oil change.

ctjkelley
05-31-2015, 20:14
Hello all! I am a newbie to this site and diesels....so here goes. Recently bought a 1994 Chevy 3500 flatbed 4x4 with the 6.5 TD. Initially I had some battery and alternator issues, I got those worked by replacing the alt and 2 new batteries. So I decided to change the oil, after the oil change I started the truck up fine, idle was fine. The truck died, ever since the truck had a rough start up, it will turn over and over and over then it will hit. The initial idle is rough for 1-2 seconds the idle is smooth. It seems to have a little bit of power loss since the oil change as well. Once the truck is started its fine, the dying has just stopped, once it's up to temp I can shut the truck off and it's still hard to start. I have replaced the fuel pump and pmd with no changes. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I went and got the codes checked today and this is what was found.
1. DTC 27, PEDAL POSITION 2 IN RANGE FAULT.
2. DTC 26 PEDAL POSITION 2 LOW INPUT
3. DTC 45 EGR VENT OUTPUT FAILED
4. DTC 44 EGR PULSE WIDTH OUTPUT FAILED
5. DTC 87 HIGH RATIO.
Does any of these make sense of my initial posting? What are the fixes for these codes.

DmaxMaverick
06-01-2015, 09:43
Welcome to the Forums!

First, it sounds like the lift pump isn't working (OPS circuit related), and/or it's getting air into the fuel system (leak). It may also have issues with glow plugs and/or the GP controller.