PDA

View Full Version : 93 6.5 Turbo - No boost / turbo?

slicer89
05-29-2015, 19:04
I recently bought a 93 GMC Sierra K2500... It has the 6.5 Litre Detroit (?) Diesel 6.5 turbo engine.

I'm pretty sure my turbo isn't working, When I step on it.. It smokes black smoke... and I do not hear the turbo at all. I've ridden in a friends STOCK 94 with the same engine and I could hear it's turbo quite well. It had stock muffler, and stock filter.. No mods other than a leveling kit and stereo.

I noticed today that the waste gate (?) isn't connected to anything. Would this be why it isn't making boost or noise?

I also noticed theres a black thing ontop of the engine behind the intake manifold that appears to be not connected to anything either. I am new to diesels and this is my first diesel truck. Any advice would be appreciated.

Waste gate:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v350/punkrobot/IMG_20150529_165148_zpsomknnbx2.jpg (http://smg.photobucket.com/user/punkrobot/media/IMG_20150529_165148_zpsomknnbx2.jpg.html)

Other thing:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v350/punkrobot/IMG_20150529_165155_zpsugnlugzj.jpg (http://smg.photobucket.com/user/punkrobot/media/IMG_20150529_165155_zpsugnlugzj.jpg.html)

Dvldog8793
05-29-2015, 19:24
Howdy
Welcome To diesel page!
The waist gate actuator is exactly what picture one is. It should hooked up to a vac line that goes to a small box on the back of driver side valve cover. That box should have a wire connection and another vac line that goes to the vac pump. The vac pump is a belt driven accessory and shoul be located down on the bottom passenger side. The vac lines have a tendency to get brittle over time. That could be your problem.

The other picture is of the fuel filter. The little fitting on the top is just bleed valve. When you replace the fuel filter you can attach a line to it and open it up to bleed air out of the filter while it fills.