PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for hot start opinions

mikeyg1975
03-03-2015, 03:54
Hi everyone, I am new here, I recently purchsed a 1993 one ton quad cab dually and have done a lot of work to it since I have owned it. I am a mechanic/machinist by trade and used to work on semi trucks, and engine machine shops but now work in the oilfield. I have limited experience when it comes to the pre-cup engines and I know there is a ton of threads on this subject already, however, I feel as though my situation is unique. Since I have owned this truck, I did a full engine tune-up that included a rebuilt DB-2 injection pump from US Diesel, Rebuilt Injectors from SS Diesel supply, a new turbo, 4 inch turbo back diamond eye exhaust, and new AC Delco glow plugs, I bled all of the air out of the injection system and when the truck is running, it runs great, while I had the glow plugs out I did a compression test and even though I had some deviance between the cylinders, I was showing 400-425 psi per hole. The problem I am having is it starts great when cold, but will NOT start when it's hot, without bypassing the glow plug controller with a manual switch and relay, push the manual switch for 5 seconds, fires right up. Now why would a hot mechanical 6.5 require glow plugs to start?? Especially with a fresh pump?? It has a new lift pump, new glow plug controller, and new oil pressure switch as well. Officially color me stumped!!

DmaxMaverick
03-03-2015, 12:17
Welcome to the Forums!

Try to keep it simple, as I believe it may be just that.