PDA

View Full Version : Getting more power out of a 6.2L Diesel

Madrugador
10-10-2014, 14:02
I am a newbie to this forum and in need of a lot of help. I currently have a Land Rover Defender 90 with a GMC 6.2. It was installed not too long after I bought in 2005. For folks not to familiar with Land Rovers, their engines are inherently prone to problems. I have been super happy with this motor, but because of the gearing for the vehicle is for a high revving engine, at about 70mph it was at the maximum rpm output for the 6.2. So I added a overdrive and that helped the situation a bit better where I can go about 70mph and the engine doesn't sound like it is going to explode, but the RPMs at this speed is still a bit on the high side. Well the only thing left for me to do was to change the ring and pinion to a higher ratio and in doing so, the vehicle in general runs infinitely better, however the vehicle has trouble maintaining 5th gear with the overdrive engaged. The great thing is that the RPMs are in the optimum power range for the motor and best of all is the noise level is significantly reduced. In order to push through 5th gear with the overdrive engaged, I need more power.

One obvious way to get more power is to move to a different or large Diesel (e.g. 6.5L) or maybe there are some things that I can add or change to the 6.2L.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated! Thanks for your time.
-Madrugador

DmaxMaverick
10-10-2014, 14:29
Simple. Turbo. Done.

Dvldog8793
10-10-2014, 17:25
Turbo is by far the best option. Not sure how it would work for your application. I don't think any of the "kits" would work.
I would start by calling BanksTurbo and see what they can tell you.