PDA

View Full Version : Clutch woes - pilot bearing ??

Hubert
05-16-2005, 13:39
What is the deal with the clutches on the 6.5 / NV4500. Is it a poor design on the pilot shaft bearing or input shaft of the transmission. Or a cheap clutch?
I am having a clutch release problem. I have a 3-4 month old master cylinder and the pedal feels pretty good but the clutch doesn't want to release especially in higher gears. Might be a pilot bearing alignment problem???

Is there a recommended better fix than OEM set up? I think it went out at 60,000 miles originally and now its acting up again after another 60,000 miles! Dang it should last a lot longer than that!!!

I have the normal NV4500 groans and everything feels pretty good/normal no excessive vibration etc. Sometimes a little shudder on launch but not too bad. I am going to try bleeding the slave anything else I can do easily to help it?

Besides RPM matching anything else help the clutch workings?

a5150nut
05-16-2005, 15:19
Don't over tighten the bleed screw. The slave cylinder is plastic. As for the pilot bearing, use the earlier model bronze bushing for the gas motor.

Make shure your trans to bell houseing bolts are tight, especialy the two on top. Had mine lossen up and ate up the thougout bearing.

Turbo Al
05-17-2005, 09:52
Well first I have heard of this type of problem.
I get about 60-70,000 miles out of my clutches but I am perhaps a little hard on them (offroad).
1. As stated be VERY GENTLE tightening the bleed screw--it is a tappered fit not a tight as you can go fit--just pull the screw out and look at it and you will understand.
2. Also as stated put a solid brass/bronse pilot bushing in from a 1970's era 350.
3. I have not worked on a 97 (just the 1993) and realize that they have a different setup as far as the pivot ball and throwout arm go BUT you are overdue for those parts.