PDA

View Full Version : Oil Fouled turbo

82chevy3t3dulley
09-29-2013, 07:54
Hey guys I am new to the turbo diesel thing. I was told my turbo was oil fouled. I have no freakin clue what that mean. Is it no good at all now?

DmaxMaverick
09-29-2013, 10:19
It may be normal, but difficult to tell without looking at it. The crankcase vent is plumbed into the intake, between the air cleaner and turbo. The CDR (crankcase depression regulator, the tuna can on the pass. side valve cover) limits the amount of crankcase vacuum caused by the intake suction, but other factors can cause excessive vented oil vapor in the intake, such as an air filter that's used up (increased intake vacuum). "Fouled" can also mean a turbo spindle oil seal that's failed, allowing pressurized oil, always present to lubricate the bearing/bushing, which will leak into the intake.

Remove the intake pipe at the compressor inlet. If it's oily between the turbo compressor and air cleaner, it's engine crankcase oil vapor "fouling". If it's relatively clean, with minor oil residue (normal), remove the upper intake plenum (hat) and compare the oil residue at the compressor outlet with the inlet. If they are similar, then it's crankcase vent oil. If it's excessive between the compressor and intake plenum, you may have an oil leak in the turbo. Excessive oil residue at the inlet indicates excessive engine blowby, bad air filter, overfilled crankcase, or failed CDR (rare).

82chevy3t3dulley
09-29-2013, 16:36
Here's a pic of the turbo don't know what you can tell you guys know better then me

DmaxMaverick
09-29-2013, 17:07
Looks like an ATS turbo kit. You posted in the 6.5L forum, so I assumed... (yeah, I know). The ATS system is a bit different than the OEM 6.5TD, but similar enough in this case. The CDR I mentioned will be mounted on a bracket next to the oil fill pipe, and not plumbed like original.