PDA

View Full Version : Extended life antifreeze

Beedee
02-05-2004, 01:46
Looking for a little help here!
I bought a used 98 4x4 silverado last aug. It has 90000 km on it (thats around 60000 for my american friends). I am a heavy duty mechanic, but I havent had very much to do with the PINK STUFF. I have read a few articles, but I'm still a little unsure about it. What kind of experiances have you guys had with it???
My buddies in the local rad shop where I have all my industrial work done really don't like it ( I think they are old school ;) )
Thanks

rjschoolcraft
02-05-2004, 03:54
Works great. Do a search. Lots of discussion a few months back. Also see Texaco/Havoline Dex-Cool Engine Coolant Facts (http://www.thedieselpage.com/members/features/dexcool.htm) in the Members area for more information.

moondoggie
02-05-2004, 05:46
Good Day!

Ditto ronniejoe. Caveat: Don't ever let air get in the cooling system, it will corrode it. A mechanic told me that GM has a 60-step procedure to remove corrosion from cooling systems that were allowed to run low or had air trapped in them.

Blessings!

Brian Johnson, #5044

James Schaack
02-05-2004, 08:43
guys,

i just replaced my radiator last night. how can i be sure i have all the air out of the system? also, i replaced the thermostat with a new Stant 195. i cleaned the housing surfaces and assembled with a new gasket. once i got the truck running again i had a small leak from the thermostat housing. should i have used a little RTV to help seal the gasket? what else could i try?

thanks! :D

James

MTTwister
02-05-2004, 08:47
Jim - before you button that up , you might want to search on Thermostats - there was discussion , somewhere, it might have been in archived volumes, that Thermostats other Than GM -( AC-Delco )- 6.5 diesel don't flow nearly as well, start openning too soon, etc.

Original OEM type product is actually best solution here.. May want to research it.

Beedee
02-05-2004, 11:41