PDA

View Full Version : Grille removal

ginger743
12-27-2012, 16:34
Hi Everyone,
I'm just getting started with the job of replacing my " seeping " Oil Cooler lines.

Thought I would start with the easy stuff like taking the Grille off. I had it off a few years ago to clean the bugs out of the radiators and don't recall having any problems, not so this time, ( too many birthdays maybe ) ?

Looking at the GM shop Manual and the Diesel Page Volume One. GM manual says to , " Remove Grille from the filler panel and the vehicle by unsnapping". In one of the " figures " they show the item that they refer to that I need to , " unsnap". I may be able to figure it out in time but I thought if anyone here has removed a 1996 2500 Grille lately and could offer me any tips on " unsnapping " this " device " it would save me some time and maybe broken pieces.

I also drove to my local pic-a-part and seems the folks that removed those Grilles had the same problem, all that was there were broken pieces.

I think I have all of the other fasteners removed and all that's holding the Grille on now are those 2 fasteners on the lower part of the Grille behind the parking lamps.

If anyone can help me with any " tips " on how to release those fasteners it would be greatly appreciated !

Jerry

I started this new Grille removal thread because the other one was closed.

ginger743
12-27-2012, 17:06
Okaaaay,

I figured it out !!

It's getting dark here very soon so I'll finish the removal tomorrow , I released one fastener so all I have to do now is remove the other parking lamp assembly and release the other fastener. At least I figured out how to release those fasteners.

One problem is that it's difficult to see in there much less get a tool in there to work.

Jerry

DennisG01
12-28-2012, 11:26