PDA

View Full Version : 6.2 in 97 Yukon

BiggZach
02-15-2012, 19:59
Hey All,

Quick question. I have an 83 Sierra with a 6.2 that has some issues non-engine or tranny related. Also have a 97 Yukon gasser with engine issues.

How hard would it be to put the 6.2 in the Yukon? I'm not new to engines ( im a diesel tech) but have never done a swap before.

I am getting ready to pull the 6.2 for some minor work and would really like to put it in the Yukon if possible.

Thanks in advance.

argo
02-15-2012, 20:42
Doing the swap would be simple. However, if you live in an area that does OBD-II scans for emissions testing, then you can't do this swap. The OBD-II Guidelines require all 1996 and newer gasoline and 1997 and newer diesel vehicles to be OBD-II compliant, meaning that the mechanically injected 6.2L won't talk to the computer, therefore it is not legal.

However if that is not a concern, you need the following:

Diesel Specific fuel pickup for the tank.

Inline electric fuel pump.

Either a non-electronic transmission or a stand alone transmission controller.

A Diesel specific converter (either transmission) and a diesel specific governor for an non-electronic transmission.

BiggZach
02-15-2012, 20:53
Thank you for all the info Would it be possible to use the transmission from the Sierra? The 700R4?

argo
02-16-2012, 05:24
Yes. If the Sierra is a 2wd, I do not know what you need to worry about to swap it to 4wd. Also, if you have an electronic transfer case in the Yukon, I don't know if the transfer case will work without input from the gasoline engine computer, so you might find that you will have to convert it to a manual transfer case as well. There are folks on this site that know more about that than I do. If you need more input on that, I would suggest you post driveline questions in the 1982-2000 C/K Truck and SUV Chassis and Drivetrain forum.