PDA

View Full Version : Problems using the electronic glow controller in parallel with manual control

argo
02-10-2012, 22:40
I have been using the Automatic glow controller on my Sub for nearly two years now with no problems. One day, however, the controller gave up. Since I have 60G plugs, I just hot wired the controller with a jumper cable, got the engine started, and drove home. I replaced the controller, and everything was peachy once more. I decided that I wanted a manual glow controller as a backup, however. So I got the requisite Ford starter relay and installed it along with a momentary push button. I just extended a lead from the hot side of the factory glow controller to the relay, and ran a jumper from the relay output to the controller output terminal. As soon as I started reconnecting the batteries, I heard the electronic controller click. With the key off, it activated itself. I unplugged the electrical connector on the controller and it shut off. I checked for feedback voltage, and the only place I get it is on the sensing lead, and that is only when the manual push button or the glow controller activates the plugs. I am at a loss as to how or why this is happening. Right now I have the plug to the electronic controller unplugged and I am using the manual controller. Any thoughts on why this is happening?

More Power
02-21-2012, 11:33
The Ford relay should be a "normally open" relay, which completes the circuit only when activated. As such, it should not affect the other controller when the power lead connection is made. It could have an affect when the Ford relay is powered, because the original controller will then be seeing 12v on the output side of its relay.

Should work regardless.... I haven't heard of anyone else having a problem when a 2nd relay is wired correctly.

Jim

argo
02-22-2012, 18:44