PDA

View Full Version : Brake Controller

gimpyhauler
04-22-2011, 13:43
I have an '07 GMC, Sierra Classic, 2500HD, 4x4, CC, LB, 162,000 miles. Bully Dog GT installed.

We want to go on vacation to Canada towing a rental travel trailer for my family of 4.

I need a break controller. Any suggestions? I'm not looking for cheap, just a good, adjustable controller.

Help?:cool:

87max
04-23-2011, 18:50
I've been using a tekonsha for over 10 years, no issues in its 3rd vehicle now. I think I paid 70 bucks back then.

JohnC
04-24-2011, 18:18
My wife controls the breaks. For the trailer, I second "Teconsha" Prodigy.

Enigma
04-24-2011, 19:13
My wife controls the breaks. For the trailer, I second "Teconsha" Prodigy.

^^^^ x2, have had good luck with the prodigy

More Power
05-04-2011, 12:38
I've had a Draw-Tite Activator Electronic Brake Control - #5100 on my 2001 since 2001. Easy to install, has worked well. Current pricing is about $70.

The GM trucks (those equipped with a towing package) came with a wiring pigtail that can be used to make the connection between an electronic brake controller and the truck wiring. The trailer brake pigtail plugs into the electrical center panel near your left foot (when seated in the driver's seat). The blue wire on the controller connects to the large dark blue wire on the GM pigtail. The controller black wire connects to the large red wire on the GM pigtail. The red controller wire connects to the small light-blue pigtail wire. And finally, the controller white wire connects to the small black wire on the GM pigtail.

The GM pigtail also includes a brown wire, which can be used to power a night-time illumination lamp, if your controller is equipped with a lamp. In my case, I used that brown wire to power the lamps for my EGT and boost gauge.

There was a 40 amp B+ Trailering Maxi-fuse taped to the GM brake controller pigtail. The electrical panel under the hood, over the driver's side fender, is where this fuse will be inserted.