PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Filter

MikeyB
02-05-2011, 16:28
Because of my fuel gelling issue I went to NAPA today to buy a new filter. It was plastic so I opted not to get it. The dealer was closed so I guess I'll have to wait a few days. Any experience with the new plastic filters? Maybe the're great. Don't know, just made me a bit uncomfortable. Are the new filters from the dealer plastic as well?

Thanks for any info,
Mike

I think it was a Baldwin or Wix, can't remember....

JohnC
02-05-2011, 19:08
It's Wix. Dunno if they are good or bad. I've been running one for a couple of months now with no disasters...

MikeyB
02-05-2011, 21:23
It's Wix. Dunno if they are good or bad. I've been running one for a couple of months now with no disasters...

Thanks, I am fairly certain your weather is usually much colder and severe than ours. Good to hear you have had no problems. Just didn't want to lay out the cash until I had some info. I fly a "plastic" airplane and much prefer metal!

Mike

Kennedy
02-06-2011, 08:13
It used to be that all Dmax fuel filters were the same with just a different name on them. That changed a couple of years back. While I have never cut open one of the plastic fantastic filters, common sense tells me that if the can is narrower, the media diameter must be smaller.

I won't use one as I get a lot of calls from people with instant issues (air etc) after changing their filter. I tell them to take that POS plastic thing off and they say how did you know???

I suppose I'll have to buy one and slice it open to see what is inside.

LanduytG
02-06-2011, 13:49
Racor came out with the latest version about a year ago. Its a true coalescing filter, meaning it traps water. Racor has a very good reputation and IMHO they are the only ones to use. Although they are made in China but so is about 99% of the other brands.

Greg

JohnC
02-07-2011, 09:56
I can walk to NAPA and I needed a filter... :o

ross1147
02-07-2011, 10:37