PDA

View Full Version : 96 6.5

snwmn584
12-27-2010, 15:56
Alright guys, I'm new to this thing. I did some searching and found some good information, but i have a few more.

Here is the truck i am looking at. It is a 1996 Chevy Silverado 1500 6.5.
View Inventory (http://www.autotrader.com/dealers/inview/detail.jsp?dealer_id=65817969&dealership_view_name=avenuemotors&ct=u&car_id=290109217)

Well i went and looked at it today after work and noticed a few things. They told me that they had the truck plugged in for 30 minutes before i had gotten there. Well the truck wouldn't start. I let the glow plugs do there job and tried a few different times and still nothing. While cranking i looked into the mirror and noticed it was blowing black smoke. The guy told me that it usually starts when being plugged in for 10 minutes, but i have a feeling the truck has been sitting there for a while.

The other thing i noticed was oil leaking somewhere in the front of the engine. Not sure if it was the front main seal or what.

And the crossover pipe had been fixed, and i noticed some of that muffler epoxy...

Other than that the truck was clean, no rust, good tires, clean interior.

They are asking 6188. 194000 miles.

What do you guys think? Any other help would be greatly appreciated.

AllThumbs
12-27-2010, 16:21
The miles aren't bad, there should be a lot more there if the whole thing is in good shape. I was unaware that the 6.5 came in the 1500 series. Probably shows what I know.

If it was plugged in for 30 minutes, depending on the weather, it should have started. Mine started grudgingly this morning WITHOUT being plugged and the temp was 3 F. Black smoke, I think is too much fuel and there should be plenty of folks here that have suggestions on that.

6.5 Detroit Diesel
12-27-2010, 16:38
Check air filter. filter could be bad, might have collapsed.

how fast did it crank over at?

and yes, the 6.5 came in 1500's, right down to five bolt 2wd models. ;)

6.5 Detroit Diesel