PDA

View Full Version : 700r4 or 400 turbo

scot5146
08-25-2010, 17:29
hey guys-

OK so bare with me... i am new to diesels and just bought my first 6.2 L 1987 suburban!

The rig runs great but I have a few questions, I have a big lift and 36" tall tires that I am going to put on the rig...

Is the 700r4 going to hold up or should I switch to a 400 turbo, I have a 3:73 gear ratio in the rear end and I am trying to figure out what transmission will turn the tires the best and hold up against a modified 6.2L.

Again bare with me I am learning as I go... Thanks for any help! Oh and I read Jims 6.2L volume 1 (very helpful)

Thanks again
Mike

Crank Shaft
08-25-2010, 18:07
I do not like the 700r4 for anything , i have a small pile of them out back all dead , if you want to spend a lot of money , they can be built up some. Tb 400 and the Tb 475 very strong units but no overdrive. Go with the 4L80E for overdrive and get a non lock up converter or the electric bypass set up from painless, . Just my thought on it

Crank Shaft
08-25-2010, 18:16
http://www.chevyhiperformance.com/techarticles/60978_transmission_swapping_tech/index.html

http://www.rowand.net/shop/tech/automaticoverdrivetransmissionswap.htm

Just some info . Maybe not as easy as i thought , the tb 400 will hold up better than the 700r4 and dont forget a cooler heat kills them quick.

JeepSJ
08-26-2010, 13:52
You can't beat an overdrive for mileage! I love my 700R4. They can easily be built to take the power of a diesel and live a long life. They don't suck as much hp as a 400 either. Running a 4L80E will require a controller for the trans.

If you have a 1500, those 36's will kill that stock rear end in a very short time and probably snap axles too. You probably want to run at least a 4.11 gear with those tires.

DmaxMaverick
08-26-2010, 15:55