PDA

View Full Version : heat sensor for fuel/water separator??

wookienelson
06-30-2010, 18:21
first off im new to diesel engines...i just recently bought an 86 gmc suburban 6.2 diesel...the fuel/water separator has been progessively leaking worse from the housing and i just bought a valmar fuel/water separator without the 3 connections that came w/ the original one...and also i no long have a heat sensor on it...i am heading northbound and wondering if it will be ok through winter without it. and if not, what can i do to make sure it will be?

NH2112
06-30-2010, 18:35
first off im new to diesel engines...i just recently bought an 86 gmc suburban 6.2 diesel...the fuel/water separator has been progessively leaking worse from the housing and i just bought a valmar fuel/water separator without the 3 connections that came w/ the original one...and also i no long have a heat sensor on it...i am heading northbound and wondering if it will be ok through winter without it. and if not, what can i do to make sure it will be?

I drove my GMC without a fuel heater for 3 NH winters and never had a problem with gelling. In all likelihood the winter blend they'll sell wherever you're going will have a pour point lower than the expected low temp. What type of filter is a Valmar? If it uses a plastic bowl, a lot of times you can get fuel heater or water detector kits for them. There are also inline fuel heaters you simply install in the fuel line, too.

wookienelson
07-01-2010, 06:04
awesome...thank you very much...the valmar fuel/water separator is just one of the cylinder lookin filters you screw on...i believe they use them in boats quite a bit too...but once again...thank you for the feedback

Burbinator
07-21-2010, 16:35