PDA

View Full Version : Block Heater advice - which is preferred?

BlueSky94
12-26-2004, 18:46
I'm still learning the nuances of my 6.5.
-Is it better to plug her in an leave it on overnight?
-or-
-Put it on a timer to cycle on for an hour - off for 30 min and one again?
-or-
-Use the timer, let her freeze up until about 4 hours before crank up?

It is in the teens here at night in the winter. I've searched and read the posts on block heaters but really did not get a clear understanding on the best way to use it. I'm less concerned about the electricity than I am about damaging or burning something out prematurely.

Thanks!

DennisG01
12-26-2004, 19:17
I've had good luck with the 4-hour scenario. From what I've learned here on TDP, I think you'll find most would agree that would be sufficient - without running the heater for longer than is neccesary. Where 'bouts in PA are you?

DeezlStinson
12-26-2004, 20:15
Howdy,

Here's what I do when it's cold outside. I use a timer set at 2-3 hrs before I want to go somewhere. I connect the installed block heater AND a 1000w space heater to it.

2-3 hours seems to be enough to heat the block enough to start easily.

It's also enough to heat the inside using the space heater on medium to a comfotable level and clear any snow or frost/ice from the windshield and side windows.

E N S U R E THE SPACE HEATER IS NOT NEAR ANYTHING COMBUSTABLE!!!!

I just set it in the middle of the floor on the driver side facing front. Medium (about the 750w level) is more than adequate!

Regards,

Rick

BlueSky94
12-27-2004, 02:10
Dennis G., I'm in Bulter.

Thanks for the information guys.

Dvldog 8793
12-27-2004, 05:18
Howdy