PDA

View Full Version : staling after 2 hours of use

fixitguy1ca
01-25-2010, 06:02
Hi
I have a 98 3500hd with the 6.5 turbo diesel. It starts and runs fine for the first hour or so then stalls as it is out of fuel. It usualy starts right up again and then stalls within 3 minutes, only to repeat the process. Throttle posistion or speed doesn't seem to make a difference. There seems to be no change in the exhaust as it stalls. I have changed the: booster pump under the cab, the transfer pump between the two tanks, the float module in the front tank, and checked the lines from the fuel tanks for leaks. I have also changed the fuel filter in the engine. I have ran the truck with the bleeder open to the point of empting the tanks and got no air bubbles. It has the electronic injector pump, and throtte control. I have been a diesel tech for 15 years but this one has me stumped. Oh and yes i am in montreal so i don't think it is the module on the intake manifold that is overheating as it is cold to touch yet the truck still stalls. any help or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.

Mark Rinker
01-25-2010, 06:27
Welcome aboard.

From your description, and thorough troubleshooting of the fuel delivery system, I'd say it is likely the PMD. (Also referred to as the FSD...)

The PMD/FSD doesn't need to overheat to fail. My advice would be to buy one mounted to a heatsink with a harness extension - leaving the 'iffy' one on the injection pump as an emergency backup in case it happens again.

Lots of used PMD/FSDs out there floating around if you need to save money, but the cost is obviously reliability over the long run...

Good luck!

fixitguy1ca
01-25-2010, 07:12
is there any way to test the PMD?...I have already sunk about $1000 into this only to not fix it. I am reluctant to throw more money into a guess. thanks for your input.

bp250065
01-25-2010, 07:53