PDA

View Full Version : no start '89 6.2 burb

pologuy14
10-29-2009, 15:56
the engine started yesterday no problem. go out to start this morning & no start. not sure what the problem is. & i had a vehicle to jump start the batteries & voltmeter to check so batteries were charged
here is a list to go off of

she cranks no problem
glow plugs glow
fuel is getting to the ip
air is out of the fuel line
(i assume the ip is pushing fuel)injector lines pulsate

any other ideas would be awsome thanks.

JohnC
10-29-2009, 17:21
Crack one of the lines at the injector and see if fuel weeps out. Fuel, heat and compression are all you need. One must be missing.

pologuy14
10-29-2009, 19:50
how do i check compression on a diesel engine? i have done a gasser but im still pretty new to the diesel world

DmaxMaverick
10-29-2009, 21:40
how do i check compression on a diesel engine? i have done a gasser but im still pretty new to the diesel world

Essentially the same as a gasser. But......You'll need a Diesel compression tester. Most gasser gages don't go high enough, and can blow the gage if your compression is anywhere near where it should be. You'll also use the glow plug hole instead of a spark plug hole. Remove ALL the glow plugs during the test, and it's done with the engine near operating temp. Unplug the injection pump fuel supply solenoid wire (the pink one, toward the front of the pump), else you'll be pumping fuel into the cylinders during the test, and the cylinder you are testing may fire (big ouch). Crank it for several revs to clear the cylinders of fuel before beginning (after the plugs are out). Be sure the batteries are completely charged, and recharge as necessary to maintain consistent cranking speed. Crank it for exactly 6 puffs on each hole with the gage connected, and take your reading. If your compression is above 300 PSI at every cylinder, and they are all within 15%, the compression is sufficient for a well running engine, but above 360 PSI is ideal.