PDA

View Full Version : #7 piston destroyed itself on start up today, what happened here?!?!

merlot566jka
04-26-2009, 22:29
ok well i did a new master cyl and hydroboost last night. This morning I looked at the resiviour and it needed some more fluid to top off. I get in the truck, crank and hear a god aweful noise and it fires up making a bizzare ticking/metal on metal noise. I shut it down and started investigating. I took off the air cleaner and looked in the manifold, nothing broken or stuck in there.... I check the oil, no coolant or metal. I checked the rad to see if it was smoking....nothing.
I pulled the intake manifold, looked in the ports with a flashlight....nothing. little oily but everything looked ok.
i fired it up with the intake manifold off, and to my suprise exhaust started coming out of the #7 intake port. it was loud and the knocking got softer. I thought ''what the hell could cause this? did I just loose a keeper or wipe a cam lobe?''
Knowing there is some serious damage and a long road ahead, I got a buddy to give me a ride to work for the next week or so. Then I started tearing it apart.
I got the injector lines off and the valve cover, #7 ex spring was a little loose and the intake wasnt as tight as the others aswell.
Time to rip off the head. I thought about an hr and Id have it off. Yeah right. exhaust unbolted fine from the manifold, but the cooler lines and rear vacuum port slipped by me. oh and the dipstick tube. after a back breaking battle I got the head off and this is what I found.
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c134/merlot566jka/DSCN0796.jpg
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c134/merlot566jka/DSCN0797.jpg
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c134/merlot566jka/DSCN0798.jpg

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c134/merlot566jka/DSCN0805.jpg
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c134/merlot566jka/DSCN0800.jpg
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c134/merlot566jka/DSCN0806.jpg
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c134/merlot566jka/DSCN0807.jpg