PDA

View Full Version : new to the civilian 6.5...need help

ChevyDuty
02-19-2009, 23:18
hey all, i'm new to the civilian 6.5, but i worked on them for years in the military...but those were all mechanical injection (good 'ol DB2) and very simplified.

while looking online i found an ad for a '98 K2500 ECSB with a 6.5 turbo diesel and 4L80E for sale or trade for a gas-powered truck of equal value. just because i could, i sent her an email offering my '91 K1500 ECSB with the TBI 350/700R4 as a trade and she wants it! we haven't actually DONE the trade yet, but it will be happening this weekend. now, i've done some searching on here and a few other sites about the problems the truck has, but i wanted to see if i could get advice/help on my specific situation...

here's the story as it was told to me. the truck was running perfect (193k) and she decided to replace the fuel filter to keep up with maintenance. the truck wasn't running bad at all, she just decided to change it. she admittedly doesn't know anything about diesels except to use the green pump. so after putting the fuel filter in, she couldn't get it to start.

thinking she had seen her brother start a diesel with ether, she used it. the engine kicked back in protest and chipped the flywheel and broke the starter. she had a Chevy dealer replace them both. after getting it started, the truck had 5 codes. replacing the PMD (and relocating) cured 3. she also had the dealer put in a new supply pump...but that didn't do anything. the two codes left are the infamous P0251 and the P0370. the dealer just wanted to throw an IP on it. now, i know that could very well be the problem, but i'm kinda thinking it might be contaminated fuel.