PDA

View Full Version : Crank-no start problem; happened suddenly then went away

m-keith
10-21-2003, 12:01
It happenened when I went to leave my parent's house this past Sunday. Truck wasn't dead cold but was well below operating temp. My wife & mom had driven the truck on a short trip to visit someone in the neighborhood about an hour or so before we left. The glows worked fine & the SES light came on with the key in the run position. It cranked fine but would not start. The batteries & starter are each a few months old. I checked for fuel at the filter housing drain while someone else cranked the motor. After 5 to 10 cranks, I only had enough fuel to fill the bottom of a pickle jar, which didn't seem right to me. However, I'm still quite new to diesels; so I was dead in the water without my factory manual. So, my mom took us home, & I had it towed to my house on Monday evening.

After the tow truck dropped it off, I tried to start it, & it fired right up as if nothing had happened. Drove it to the gas station to fill it up just to make sure. It took about a half tank. Drove it around some more, took it to work today, & I even went to the parking lot to start it a couple of times. So far, it hasn't missed a beat. It exhibited no symptoms (stalling, stuttering, etc) before or after the problem occurred, & the SES light has not come on. The trouble shooting guide states that this is not a common occurance & that a crank-no start condition is usually preceeded by other symptoms. An archive search didn't turn up much either. How much fuel should flow from the drain valve when cranking the motor; the same amount that is listed as the flow spec at the lift pump?