PDA

View Full Version : update on Magna flow.....

Shed
09-02-2008, 06:45
Some of you may remember an exhaust problem I was having earlier.

4" cat back exhaust from magnaflow installed 2 summers ago. Recently went to do full tranny service and found that exhaust was touching/rubbing on upper tranny line. Thus transferring heat and elevating temps in tranny.

Took the truck to the aftermarket vendor(to remain nameless) and they did nothing except say that the engine had shifted and maybe it needed to be moved back into place!!!! I'm no mechanic, but i laughed in the guys face face and told him that was hilarious!

Contacted Magnaflow. They DO NOT make and exhaust for the extended cab short boxes. Which I have. They can't do anything about it. I understand thier position, can't fix what you don't make.

The vendor states that they will bend the line for me but stated that they did not know how to do that at first.

Chevy dealer says they can modify a new line in thier "race shop" (essentially taking a 1/2 " out to gain clearance. But that a new line is reccommended due to the possible heat damage and the rubbing. This will cost about $250.

Contacted the vendor and provided the info from magnaflow and the dealer. They denied any responsibilty and that they did nothing wrong. They WILL NOT pay for anything! I offered to pay for the part ($80) and still no go.

So tommorrow the truck goes to the dealer to have the modified line installed and hopefully this will lower the tranny temps while towing into the area I had always hoped they would be.

Lesson learned, always do your own investigating as to what is put on your truck! It all boils down to my own fault! Sorry for the long post, please give any thoughts or ideas on this! Have a great day! Shed

Mark Rinker
09-02-2008, 11:21
Sounds to me like you've worked the problem, and are taking the best path to the right outcome.

Hope all is well after the modification.

What towing temps were you seeing?

More Power