PDA

View Full Version : Is this smoke ok???

brighty
08-27-2008, 19:00
Hi everyone.... newbie here...

I've done the search thing and come up with alot of info... but just wondering what peoples thoughts are on the amount and colour of smoke I get when starting my 6.2. It's a bit hard getting good info on these engines over here in Australia!!

I've had this motor dropped into an HJ60 body which I chopped down into a ute for the past 4 years. It's always ran so smoothly in the past but over the last year or so, it's been suffering from quite a bit of smoke on starting and also when putting my foot down... mainly because I feel it just doesn't have the power it used to when I first got it. It still runs ok when warm but god is it smokey on starting.... I actually have to push it out of the garage and close the door so it doesn't fill with smoke!!!

I must admit I don't usually drive it like a granny, but in the past few months I've just been taking it easy on the old girl as I really can't afford to rebuild it right now. here is two links to small clips I took of it this morning when I started it up..... the sound's not quite right as I only have a dodgy old 3.2 megapixel camera to get the footage with.

Smokey on start up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HtAnnIiBoJg

Just giving it a rev after about 2-3mins of idle running.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Odo7FiMWiU

And a pic of my truck

http://www.offroadimages.com.au/4x4events2006/displayimage.php?album=796&pos=82
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y293/brighty4wd/The%2060%20Chop/Tteute004.jpg

Robyn
08-27-2008, 19:21
Hey Mate
Toss a set of injectors in the little creature along with a set of good fresh glow plugs and the little critter will most likely run sweet again and pick up some power and MPG.

The pop pressure and the spray pattern of the injectors has likley gone in the toilet of the last many miles.

If the pop pressure drops too far the things drool instead of spraying a nice fine mist.