PDA

View Full Version : Turning up the IP

DaveBr
08-22-2008, 15:00
Looking for some feedback on how much I can turn up the mechanical IP on my 93 2500 2 wh dr. Mods done are as follows: 3.5" exhaust including x-over pipe, pulled intake snorkel & installed K&N filter, homemade adjustable boost control, 5 core rad, Kennedy's 180 calibrated clutch fan, 20" fan blade & 180 thermostat. A-pillar with boost, egt & trany temp. I'm thinking 1/4 turn but to be honest everything I've learned has come from this site & manual's purchased from this site. I'm no expert but I'm learning. Any thoughts?

Thanks

Dave (my first post)

More Power
08-22-2008, 15:36
Welcome to the board! :)

There are a couple of practical limits that define how much a pump can be "turned up".

Exhaust temperature.... The 6.5 can run at 1250 degrees F (before turbo) for as long as it takes to pull the longest steepest Interstate grade while towing any rated load. Adding fuel that takes it past the 1250 mark can cause problems unless the driver uses his right foot to manage temperature.

Health and capability of the fuel injection pump.... Most healthy DB2-4911 fuel injection pumps can be turned up approximately a 1/4 turn. An older pump may not be able to. Surging, white smoke, or erratic running are the usual symptoms of a pump that has been turned up past its ability.