PDA

View Full Version : At loss on coolent loss

Barry Nave
01-17-2004, 16:13
A 360 mile trip pulling a flat bed with a 9x12x9 shed on top,800 2x6x9 and shed full of goods the low coolent light came on :eek: . No over heating,gage's all running where should be.
Top of water and headed home.
Week one went by and CK tank each morning,FULL.
Did not CK any more. Week two light back on :confused: Toped of tank again,day one fine. smile.gif
Day two fine(today) smile.gif
Whats going on :confused:
Eng up to temp,psi when cap is removed.
Eng running no bubbles in tank.See no leaks at a stand still anyway and no ordor of antifreez.
Runs good,starts good even in 10* temps at work.
At home the truck sets in a warm shed.
At work it set out in the cold.
I'm a contractor and at times I may or may not drive the truck during the day.
Bad thing is I know something happened.
Way Me After All The Trouble Free Years :(
Before the trip started with the load,all fuilds levels were up so the coolent loss was during the coorse of the trip.

[ 01-17-2004, 03:39 PM: Message edited by: Bnave95 ]

RobK
01-17-2004, 19:31
You might try pressure testing your cap. I had a similar situation. After a relatively light tow I noticed a puddle under the passenger side of the truck while refueling. A quick look under the hood revealed the overflow tank was overflowing. After getting home and letting it cool the tank was just about empty so I refilled it and the same thing happened a couple weeks later. Neither time did I have any problems with overheating. So, a quick check of the cap revealed a weak spring that was passing coolant to the overflow sooner than it should have.

Good luck!
Rob K.

Barry Nave
01-18-2004, 03:50
Thanks, Thats a start.
Some how it has to be a simple thing I'm not seeing.

EWC
01-18-2004, 08:04