PDA

View Full Version : Another Transmission Line Leak Story

Falk781
01-31-2008, 12:42
So my truck has 40,000 miles on it now and is an 06' LLY Crew Cab. I've been a mechanic for a very long time so for those of you who are mechanics or mechanically oriented, I'm sure you can relate with my frustration.

I am in the process of relocating from PA to TX as I have taken a new job with another organization. We are supposed to load the truck up and ship it but before that happens, I thought I would regrease the intermediate shaft as 20,000 miles after I did it the first time, it's starting to make noise.

While I was working on it, I decided to take a roll underneath and check for leaks. Low and behold I found the line between the allison and the radiator starting to form a drip at the crimp. If you have researched it, you will have found that this is hugely common especially with the change in temperatures.

The line is on national back order and is 51.00 my cost. The dealer who originally said it would probably be covered under the 6/100K warranty with the Duramax Allison combo warranty has now said it isn't. They want 400.00 to change that line and a pressure power steering line coming off of the hydro boost valve that I also saw was getting wet.

Right now, they aren't even allowing orders for it until at least next week.

I know of one guy who has had 4 trans lines changed in 25K miles and there is no recall on this.

Under warranty, I have already had one leaking power steering line replaced along with the entire steering box for leaks. Add to that the tailshaft seal and PTO seals for leaks in addition to the rear diff gasket. The truck was also recalled 4 times for Glow Plug Mod reprog, a sticker missing, a potential other power steering line failure problem and one other thing that I can't even remember.

I'm frustrated and with everything going on, I don't have time to take the time out to change it myself even if I could get the parts. :confused:

Mark Rinker