PDA

View Full Version : FSD Replacement?

More Power
08-16-2004, 12:10
I received the following email message and a PDF a short while ago concerning a possible replacement (non-Stanadyne) FSD module. I thought you guys might like to know more. What is shown here is all I presently know about it. MP

----------------------------------------

Dear Sir

Please find attached a newsletter on an alternative electronic module for energizing the solemoid controlling the fuel by-pass poppet valve on Stanadyne fuel pumps. I have been using one for over 6 months and about 18,000 miles with no problems with starting or engine performance.
The module has a patent pending on novel ways of ensuring valve closure and release.

If you have any questions please contact me.

Best Regards
Andrew Mills

http://www.thedieselpage.com/images/fsdreplacement01.jpg
http://www.thedieselpage.com/images/fsdreplacement02.jpg

MEdlin
08-16-2004, 12:23
Very interesting... Go figure, I just replaced my FSD yesterday! :rolleyes:

Marty Lau
08-16-2004, 15:30
This very interesting looks like someone beat Beta too it. Speaking of Beta where has he been he has not been around much at all. Wasn't he going to release a FSD replacement?

Barry Nave
08-17-2004, 03:22
:rolleyes: So BETA COOLER are over sized :confused:

gmctd
08-17-2004, 05:06
I have been running a 'pre-failed' Stanadyne FSD\PMD on the inj pump for 36mos and 40000mi with no starting or engine performance problems.

This appears to be about the size of a Stanadyne FSD\PMD in a potted module with integral finned heat sink.
Be a good idea to do some hands-on before committing, imho.

[ 08-17-2004, 07:29 AM: Message edited by: gmctd ]

autocrosser
08-17-2004, 08:27
The warranty on them is only for 1 year. I emailed them to find out. When I got the reply I suggested that they should warranty it for a lot longer maybe even 5 years if they feel it is a so much better than the Stanadyne that they can charge the big price for it.