PDA

View Full Version : Typical new guy

CaptRon010
12-11-2007, 11:03
I have to say that I have limited knowledge of diesel engines. I am looking for something that will pull my camper and haul Boy Scouts to and from camping trips. I need the size to hold as many people as I can and still be able to pull an equipment trailer. I am not a rich man so it needs to be functional for my personal life as well as my Scouting life. I came across a locally owned 1982 Chevy Suburban with a 6.2 liter diesel engine which has the Banks Turbo. It has 180,000 miles on it and wondered if it was a dependable and economical engine. The owner says that the oil has always been changed and they have only had to do minor repairs on it. They also say that it gets 20 mpg. Does 20 mpg sound normal for a 25 year old truck? Does $2500 sound like a good deal? Thanks for any input you can provide.

doncannon
12-11-2007, 14:50
Hi captron010,

You may want to take paper and a pencil. If the owner will let you take it for a test drive hopefully it will be cold when you start it to see how it starts. See if the trans slips when put into gear if its automatic. Also see if it makes any knocking noise when cold? See what kind of oil pressure it has once you get it warmed up? When you drive it if it has gauges see how far the parometer gauge goes up as you step on the gas while doing normal driving and if you put your foot in it on a hill? If it has a boost gauge see how far it goes up? It should have decent power I know mine did after I put the turbo on, but wasnt till i replaced the injection pump till it came to life.

I am no expert but some of these would help determine the condition of the engine,
I am sure others will chime in,
Don

doncannon
12-12-2007, 05:42
Hi captron010,