PDA

View Full Version : newby

jack dragger
07-22-2007, 17:35
egr coolant problem---anyone help

Dakster
07-22-2007, 18:12
I'm no expert, but can you elaborate a little? Especially with the year, make, model, engine of the truck in question...

jack dragger
07-23-2007, 07:27
I have a 2006 Chevrolet Kodiac HD 5500 W/ 6.6L. It is on a seneka motor home. I recently took a vacation trip from Texas to Florida. On the way i had a complete breadown ( all controll was shutdown==engine,steering etc ect:(
some 26000 lbs moving 60 mph. wreckered=chevyrolet dealer twice:confused:
service reported egr coolant problem twice

Duramaster
07-23-2007, 07:35
Is there a DTC? Or did the engine shut down because it sensed a low coolnt level? Did the "LOW COOLANT" light turn on along with the "ENGINE SHUTDOWN" light? :confused: :confused: :confused:

jack dragger
07-23-2007, 14:32
Thanks for reply. Actually im new to diesels. To answer your question, everything on the cluster was blinking along with a bell for about 3 seconds ,then the engine shut down--left me with no steering going about 65 and was in a no pull off area :( really dangerous

jack dragger
07-23-2007, 14:34
Sorry don't know about ( DTC):confused:

Duramaster
07-23-2007, 15:18
Sounds like the engine shut down because of a low coolant condition. If the coolant level is good, then the sensor in the coolant resevoir is probably defective. Restart the engine and pay attention to the IPC. If the low coolant light comes on followed by an "X" with a circle around it (I believe that is what it looks like), then the engine is being shut down because of a low coolant condition.

JohnC
07-23-2007, 15:23
Sounds like a big time power (electrical) problem to me...

jack dragger
07-23-2007, 19:18