PDA

View Full Version : New truck... UH-OH!

bigbillyboy
06-13-2007, 23:14
So, after a 4 month search, I bought the truck below. Drove it home 800 miles that day, It drove perfect except these two issues:
1. starter shot, lots of grinding - Replaced with Reman unit, and problem solved!
2. started loosing coolant on the trip home. Not much, but had to top it off a few times. No smoke at all, oil very black no sign of water, minimal pressure in coolant tank. It absolutely was not dripping water anywhere. - after installing the starter, I fired it up and it smoked white ALOT!. It had not even had a trace of smoke in the previous starts (all in one day) and the previous 800 miles (all in one day). So, most likely head gasket or head cracks.
Is there any way to know which without removing the head? And assuming it's just a head gasket, approximately how long does it take to R&R both Gaskets and approximate cost? Im a fairly savvy mechanic with no experience with these motors, but lots with Mercedes/VW Diesels. Is there anything else I should innspect while inside? I forgot to mention it is a Reviva complete drop in engine with about 30K on it. Does anybody know anything about these motors? Do they have a good reputation? Websight looks good www.revivaco.com

i know, lots of questions..
thanks,
jason

redbird2
06-14-2007, 05:29
glad to hear you found your truck

1st how did it start after you put starter on long crank time slow start? first I would check the glow plugs to make sure they are good and working you will get white smoke if it starts with out the GP coming on like they should.
you stated never smoked on start on drive home the engine was warm then after you warm it up does it still smoke on start ups?

2nd how much AF are we talking a gallon ever stop gallon for the whole trip what?