PDA

View Full Version : About to buy 05 LLY

Mikes 05
05-19-2007, 21:04
Hey guys I'm new to the world of diesels, I recently left the Marine Corps after 4yrs of service in the infantry and 2 tours in Iraq, and some money to buy the truck I want. I'm looking at a 05 2500HD crew cab short bed w/ a LLY for $32,500 w/ 30,849 mi. From reading on this forum I understand its important to see the service records on the trucks due to some over heating issues. I ran carfax on it and it came out to be a corporate vehicle with a clean history. What are some of the things I should look for? The truck ran great and doesn't leak any fluids, under the hood looks brand new, interior is in excellent condition. The VIN is 1GCHK23235F832149 and the link to the truck is http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=221889507&dealer_id=57546232&car_year=2005&search_type=both&num_records=25&make=CHEV&keywordsfyc=&transmission=&distance=50&model=CHEVC25&address=08876&make2=&advanced=y&default_sort=priceDESC&certified=&max_mileage=&max_price=&sort_type=priceDESC&min_price=&first_record=26&body_code=0&end_year=2008&color=&keywordsrep=&start_year=2005&drive=&pager.offset=25&engine=&doors=&style_flag=1&fuel=Diesel&cardist=37. What kind of info can you pull up on this truck and what do you think? Thanks in advance for the help.-Mike S.

Mountainman
05-19-2007, 22:35
Mike, I love my '05 LLY but I bought mine brand new at less than what you are looking at. I would look around a bit. Overheating could be a problem if you tow big and tall and choose highways that are the same. If you OH, there is a sure-fire fix and it don't come from Chevrolet. The '05 LLY is one super truck and the one change to make that makes the truck outstanding is put Bilstein shocks on it.
Mike, this American wants to thank you for your service

Mikes 05
05-20-2007, 14:29