PDA

View Full Version : Heater Core - GM or Aftermarket?

joed
04-11-2007, 11:30
Well I made a rookie mistake and cracked my heater core when I replaced my heater hoses - doooh! I used a little too much "force" on the old "welded" on hoses.

Anyway, I'm noticing that ones from GM are about twice as expensive as Napa, etc. Is the GM version that much better or does it matter?

Also, any R & R tips? - I've never done one before and it doesn't look like much fun. How many hours can I expect?

Thanks. Joe.

john8662
04-20-2007, 11:00
The aftermarket heater cores have served well for me...

So, get 'er dun!

Anyways...

The job isn't a pleasant one.

Some additional things have to come apart to do this one properly.

If your truck has the additional black insulative cover over the evap box, then you'll need to drop the inner fender down some to get access to the small self-tapping screws that hold that on and carefulyl remove it to get access to the bolts that hold the evap box on the firewall.

You'll also get to remove the glovebox from the interior to get access to vent system inside the cab, which has to come out.

The heater core is inside the box, inside the cab. Dismantle the box, replace the core, install in the reverse order as removal.

Have fun!

J

Robyn
04-21-2007, 19:07
I really think that the way heater cores are installed is a conspiracy.
I have never seen any rig other than big trucks that the heater core is not a real booger to get out.

Truth is they could easily install these so a small cover could be removed and the AC evaporator as well as the core could be removed in a matter of a few minutes.

Took exactly 1/2 hour to change the core on my class 8 truck and never had to use one (1) colorful metafore.

Why are these designed so poorly?
Even the mechanics that work for the dealers can be seen fleeing out the back door when someone mentions a heater issue.

Good luck with your core.