PDA

View Full Version : Newb Question - Road Tools?

Rally Rebel
03-26-2007, 07:57
Greets to all, and thanks for all the info shared here! I maintain two similar forums for collectors of vintage Caterpillar equipment and can appreciate what this community represents and offers. :)

Recently I purchased a really clean M1028 CUCV and will be flying up to Kansas City to drive it home to Florida. I'm new to the 6.2 but not diesels in general having several antique Caterpillars, a couple Detroits (8V71 & 471) and a handful of Mercedes (OM617 & 616). I'd like to take a good selection of tools to address any issues I may need to address on the 1300 mile trip. If y'all could share what's commonly used on these engines I'd appreciate it a great deal. Typically I'd take a 200-piece hardcase but since I'm flying out I need to pack light and take the bare essentials. Worst case just let me know the odd-ball or big-wrench stuff and I'll pick up a cheapie Wal-Mart socket/wrench set for everything else, since it's always handy to have "disposable" tools around the shop for when you need to weld up that homemade crows foot! :D

Thanks again!

Joe

Robyn
03-26-2007, 08:29
Use a good mechanics judgement but remember the 6.2 is all metric.

Subzilla
03-26-2007, 08:54
Welcome! Assuming you're a member of the Diesel Page, here's a link to an article Jim B did way back when: http://www.thedieselpage.com/members/tools.htm

This tool kit has helped me on more than a few occasions.

DmaxMaverick
03-26-2007, 09:28
Welcome to the Forums!

Excellent topic. You may need tools for even the most routine stuff while traveling.

Some (not all) of the common maintenance you could encounter on the road aren't very different from vehicle to vehicle. Here's a short list of them:

Fuel filter (top of the list for a reason)
Belt(s)
Battery connections
Fuses and electrical connectors/splices
Lamps
Etc.