PDA

View Full Version : Do I have an electrical problem?

BIOBEV
03-14-2007, 09:09
Hey Guys can you give me some advice? I have a 1988 6.2L 3/4 T Suburban. I recently changed out my batteries and replaced the belt, shortly after I notice my amp. guage nearly goes up to the red zone and fluctuates between the danger zone and just past the 13 mark on my gauge. Do I have an alternator problem, bad batteries(they are new). I am doing damage driving it. As you can tell I am no mechanic, but here in Arizona most garages look at diesels like they are from Mars. Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks

john8662
03-14-2007, 09:15
Mines been doing this for years, especially with a set of hot batteries.

I thought it might be a problem too, but has settled downs slightly.

J

BIOBEV
03-15-2007, 07:16
Well today it went into the red zone !!! It starts out just past the 13amp mark for a few minutes when I start then creeps up and back and shortly after goes up to the red and fluctuates. I am afraid to drive it as I do not want to cause damage, Should I drive it? Are one or both of the new batteries defective? Is my alternator going? Am I causing any damage? Please advise!
BIOBEV

DmaxMaverick
03-15-2007, 08:51
You need to confirm your voltage gage readings with a meter. If the meter concurs, then the VR in the alternator is failing. Driving it isn't too bad if you have to, but turn all the accessories you can to keep the voltage down. Headlights, blower, rear blower (if you have one), radio, dome lights, etc. If you drive it for a long period, or let it go too long, it will kill new batteries. Headlights and wipers will work extremely well for a while, though. Be wary of a "rotten egg smell", which means the batteries are getting cooked. A worst case scenario would be ruptured batteries, but happens rarely with single batteries, and more rarely with duals.