PDA

View Full Version : Securing 98 K-1500 to trailer.

06bowtie_guy
03-08-2007, 12:46
Hey looking for a good way to secure my 98 on my gooseneck trailer.

I've read threads and am more confused now than before. Everyone seems to have a different opinion on securing the load. Some say not the cross the chains other say yes. Some say run the front chains to the back and the back to the front.

Then there is the question of loading down the suspention or tieing to the rear diff and front lower a-arms.

Here is a pic of the trailer with the truck on it. Had to resize the crap out of it so hope it works.

DickWells
03-08-2007, 19:54
Hi Bowtie: I'm no expert, but I've worked with our goose-neck back home, and I think the best bet is to tie the axle down from the rear, to help hold back in case of a panic stop. Don't want your pickup coming hard up against that goose-neck. In front, I'd go to the A arms, as far out near the tires as possibe. How rugged are those side rails? Look like a good place to tie to, if they're strong. By the way, think about how they put a sling over the tires on those tow-bhind transports that we can rent. No suspension involved there.I've never thought much of tieing up high and compressing the suspension. Too much chance of chain going slack in a whoop-de-do, and coming loose.
Is that a binder I see lying on the back, there? You could get by with only one at each end, but one on each corner would be better.
I've trailered a lot of bikes and atv's, and that system has worked well for me. Although, lots of times, with a bike, you have lots of travel, so you can compress a lot, with no chance of bouncing loose. But,still, you don't need chain with bikes, either.
Good luck.
DW:)

Yukon6.2
03-09-2007, 01:18
Hi