PDA

View Full Version : LP and OPS question

vault
02-03-2007, 21:05
I think I have an OPS problem. I'm going to check it out tommorow. befor I dig in I have a question. the problem I'm having is erratic. it doesn't happen under hard exceleration. If anything it is after altough very infrequently. tonight I nearly floored it accelerating up to highway speed (unloaded) and no problem. everyonce and a while it will seem to "miss" like a gasser. It is not very frequent. maybe once every 15-20min of driving. it will happen while cruising, may be more freq after acceleration but not during. From reading about ops and lp failures it seems that I should be getting a miss during hard acceleration and it would be fairly repeatable. I've only put 400mi on since I bought the truck and I'm new to the diesel world so I'm not sure how the past maintaince was on this truck.

vault
02-04-2007, 14:40
I replaced the fuel filter, to prime it I jumped the relay bottom left top right contact as you face the fuse box standing on the drivers side front quarter pannel. I got a weak stream of fuel comming out of the vacum line I attached to top of fuel filter. does this sound more like a weak LP?

gmctd
02-04-2007, 17:11
At 115kmi, it's probably about due, so why not replace both while it's on your mind?

Check with Heath Diesel or Kennedy Diesel for a higher output version

vault
02-13-2007, 22:17
I replaced the fuel filter, ops. and lp, bled the fuel system for air bubbles. The "miss" is still present it's a split second loss of power. It occurs erratically maybe one in 45min of driving. any ideas?

gmctd
02-13-2007, 23:16
Good job - your fuel system should be no problem, now.

You should probably start by cleaning the battery cables at the battery end and where they attach to the block, then do the grounds on the passenger-side rear intake manifold - pull them and clean everything up so the PCM will have good power and ground.